Favorite Things Friday 6.13.2014

This has been a busy week. I just got back from North Dakota and I’ve been staying at my sister’s so I can run her bookstore while she celebrate her anniversary in Colorado! Needless to say, I have a lot of favorites to pick from.

1. Dog-Eared Books

My sister’s bookstore is awesome. I love working here. With awesome prices, kids books, and tons of books to pick from, I could spend months in here. I couldn’t ask for a better summer job. Too bad this only lasts until she comes home this weekend! Which leads me to…

2. My Awesome Sister

She got to go to the TFIOS event, The Night Before Our Stars. Lucky Duck. She got me an extra set of the merch they got – a TFIOS poster with John Green, Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, and Nat Wolff’s autograph and a bracelet!!! She’s also just the coolest person alive that isn’t currently typing up a blog post.

3. Frequent Flyer Miles

I recently signed up for them with the airline I use to visit the boyfriend. I can’t wait to build up enough to visit him for free! It makes paying for those pricy plane tickets a little bit easier.

4. The Fault In Our Stars movie

AUGH THE PAIN. I was a wreck from the second I stepped into the theater – though that may have more to do with the fact that the theater I saw it in (The Grand in Bismarck, ND) used one of its giant screens for the movie and so the gorgeous setting included a dark ceiling covered in twinkling lights. There was no fault in those stars! (Sorry. I couldn’t help it.) The movie was wonderfully done and I only had two changes I would have made: Hazel wasn’t consistent in her naming of Augustus/Gus. It was a wonderful point of symbolism in the book and I felt it would have been an easy thing to keep. Also, John Green’s cameo was cut. Alas, I was unable to go to the Night Before Our Stars, so I didn’t get to see it. Overall, I give the movie a 9.8 out of 10. Any movie that keeps me sobbing throughout is true to the book.

5. Cinnamon Toast Crunch Breakfast Bars

If you don’t have time for a good breakfast or just love the cereal as much as I do, these are DELICIOUS. I have been eating them like crazy lately.

 

That’s all for this week! Stay tuned for a crafty post for Super Saturday and a book haul on Sunday!

xoxo
Rachel

Leave a Reply

