Craft Tutorial – Painted Push Pins

Today I wanted to post a book haul, but my camera doesn’t look great and when I upload to youtube, the sound disappears. So instead, here’s a tutorial I’ve had in my drafts for a while! It was originally supposed to go up around Valentine’s Day, but I got very busy and forgot about it. So instead of a vlog, here’s a craft!

Here are the materials I used. Pick your favorite colors of polish and lets go!

  • water bottle cardboard tray
  • 300 ct thumb tacks from Dollar Tree
  • Sally Hansen Top Coat Polish
  • Sally Hansen Insta-Dri polish in ‘Jade Jump’
  • Sally Hansen Hard as Nails polish in ‘Rock Me, Baby!’
  • Rimmel 60 Seconds polish in ‘Red, Steady Go!’
  • Rimmel 60 Seconds polish in ‘Green-Eyed Monster’

Image

The great thing about this project is that you can use whatever you have on hand – I have to drink a ridiculous amount of bottled water because the town where my school is has disgusting water. Since I’m also lazy, I haven’t taken my last empty pack to the dumpster and just pulled the cardboard tray out. That was my base for the pins. Stick however many you want in the cardboard (I went with 12 per color).

Paint away! I suggest 2-3 coats with a layer of top coat, but the Insta-Dri (my new favorite selection) only needed one coat that was dry by the time I finished painting the pins with their first coat.

Image

When you’re done with the painting, just let them dry and you are done!

2014-01-31 16.19.17

I love these pins and couldn’t be happier with how they turned out. If you choose to make these, put up a picture so I can see your results!

(The polaroids in the last picture are notecards from Modcloth, available here!)

2 thoughts on “Craft Tutorial – Painted Push Pins

Leave a Reply

