Top Ten Tuesday – Change It Up

(Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by the wonderful women over at The Broke and The Bookish!)

For my first Top Ten Tuesday, I want to share my ten favorite ways to change it up a little. We all get stuck in little ruts once in a while, and it can seem impossible to get out. But it doesn’t take much to feel refreshed! Here’s what I like to do when I feel stuck.

1. Go for a walk. I love walking and it makes me feel proactive about life. Listen to some upbeat, inspiring music (I suggest Up and Up by Relient K. The whole thing is an awesome pep talk!) while you stroll and you’re sure to feel better soon.

2. Clean something. Whether it’s mild straightening up or an intensive trash bag clean-out, getting something like this done never fails to help me breath. I’m a very organized person, but I get swamped easily. So cleaning is an opportunity that presents itself often. Even if this doesn’t make you feel better, now you have a cleaner area and less clutter means a less cluttered mind.

3. Make a to-do list. This helps get your priorities in order, as well as can help you see how easily things can get done. To-do lists can be a double edged sword though. While they provide a tracking system of what needs to be done, this can get out of control if you aren’t careful. Don’t put a bunch of superfluous stuff on there. If your list gets too long or too involved (finish all homework for the semester, graduate with a perfect GPA, pull all the weeds, etc) then you can get overwhelmed and feel even worse! Please be careful with your to-do list!

4. Work out! Elle Woods said it best – “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands. They just don’t!” Working out will get you pumped and exhausted, get you towards a healthier you, and empower you. Again, do not set impossible goals for yourself!

5. Start keeping a journal/get a blog. Recording what you do daily helps you see what can change or needs to stay the same. Plus, it lets you see what you consider worthy of being written down. When I saw that I was writing more about my friends and less about how excited I was about school, it helped me see that maybe I wasn’t pursuing the right degree.

6. Put fresh flowers somewhere you’ll see them often. Few things make me feel lovely like flowers. They’re a sign of spring, and spring means new beginnings. It’s a simple non-action that can inspire simple change. Try it!

7. Eat something good for you. I like vegetable pizza (I’ll put the recipe at the end of this post) or fresh fruit. Yummy and light, this pairs perfectly with going for a walk or working out. Plus, eating! Who doesn’t love eating?!

8. Make a list of every single thing that makes you happy. My absolute favorite thing to do when I’m upset!! These lists can be as long as you want – mine is going on four pages! Try to keep things independent of people: no ‘when So-and-So kisses me’ or something like that. You don’t want to go back to your happy list just to be drowned in bad memories if something changes. Put all sorts of things on your list! Some of mine are fireflies, bunnies, fresh journals, and post-it notes. Go crazy! Add to it anytime something else pops into your mind! This helps you see all the wonderful things life holds if you just take a look around.

9. Start a garden. Even if it’s just one flowerpot on your windowsill, watching something grow because of you is a powerful anti-depressant. Start simple and keep a water bottle or something near it so watering isn’t a chore. If you do this with your friends, you can split the cost of a small bag of soil between you. It sucks to buy waaaay more than you need, but not want to throw it away.

10. Get a haircut. I did this today just to change it up a bit. Success! I love my new hair and already can’t wait for it to grow out so I can cut it all off again!

2014-06-17 20.20.18

 

Those are my top ten ways to get unstuck from life! What do you like to do? Do we share any favorites? Let me know!

 

Vegetable Pizza:

Ingredients
– 2 pkg crescent rolls
– broccoli
– red peppers
-green onions
– cauliflower
– grated carrots
– cream cheese
– ranch dressing

Directions
1. Roll out crescent rolls onto round pizza pan to desired thickness and bake as instructed.
2. While waiting, cut all vegetables to desired size and mix ranch with cream cheese.
3. Let crust cool, then use cream cheese mixture as sauce.
4. Sprinkle your veggies however you want.
5. Press down a bit so things don’t fall off.
6. Slice and enjoy!
7. Cover and refrigerate any leftovers.

 

Leave a Reply

