Book Review: Just One Night by Gayle Forman

Info: YA, Kindle, 43 pages, took 20 minutes to read

Synopsis: After spending one life-changing day in Paris with laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter, sheltered American good girl Allyson “Lulu” Healey discovered her new lover had disappeared without a trace. Just One Day followed Allyson’s quest to reunite with Willem; Just One Year chronicled the pair’s year apart from Willem’s perspective. Now, back together at last, this delectable e-novella reveals the couple’s final chapter.

Why I Chose This Book: I loved Just One Day and loathed Just One Year for the lack of closure. Though it was one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. This duology is simply gorgeous. GORGEOUS. I cannot recommend it enough. Anyone who has ever talked about books with me knows how upset I was at Just One Year. I felt betrayed by Gayle Forman, I felt like she gave up on her readers and didn’t care about the journey we went on with Allyson and Willem. WE DESERVED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED NEXT. And she has finally given it to us.

What I Liked: EVERYTHING. I liked having the closure I have needed since I turned the last page of Just One Day. I liked reuniting with these characters as they reunited with each other. I liked remembering all the tiny things Allyson promises to remember (being stained, the watch, Yael and Bram, every heartbreaking step towards each other, augh my heart). I liked every second of reading this novella.

What I Didn’t Like: That it wasn’t it’s own book, telling me every perfect detail of their lives. I never want to leave these two.

Rating and Recommendation: Five stars. Everyone should read this, especially if you love travel, chance, deeper meanings to everything, and love.

Final Thoughts: I have none because I’m too busy crying.

Leave a Reply

