Book Review: Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

781110

Info: Middle Lit, 272 pages, took two weeks to read

Synopsis: It’s late summer 1793, and the streets of Philadelphia are abuzz with mosquitoes and rumors of fever. Down near the docks, many have taken ill, and the fatalities are mounting. Now they include Polly, the serving girl at the Cook Coffeehouse. But fourteen-year-old Mattie Cook doesn’t get a moment to mourn the passing of her childhood playmate. New customers have overrun her family’s coffee shop, located far from the mosquito-infested river, and Mattie’s concerns of fever are all but overshadowed by dreams of growing her family’s small business into a thriving enterprise. But when the fever begins to strike closer to home, Mattie’s struggle to build a new life must give way to a new fight-the fight to stay alive.

Why I Chose This Book: It combines two of my favorite things in plots: Historical fiction and rapidly spreading disease. Plus, since it was based on true events, it’s like when your mom hid healthy stuff in good tasting stuff. History with my fun! Plus, I thought its small size would make it a quick read.

What I Liked: I really enjoyed this book. The pacing was good, the plot was compelling, and it was easy to follow without being too simple. I loved the characters and was killed when things started to go badly. I cheered for Mattie when she showed her strength and resolution to her goals. I just really loved it.

What I Didn’t Like: By the end, one character had been so romanticized I didn’t know how to imagine said character in my mind. Maybe that was just me, but eh. I didn’t care for it. One tiny complaint, though. Hardly made an impact.

Rating and Recommendation: Four stars. I really liked it, and I recommend it to anyone that is looking for a quick and compelling read without sacrificing quality.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

Leave a Reply

