Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Don’t Know If I Want To Read

1. Catcher in the Rye
This is one of those books that is constantly alluded to, so I feel like I need to read it. But I just don’t know if I want to? It seems good, but I’m not sure I would have picked it up under other circumstances.

2. Anything by Sarah Dessen
I know, I know. She’s like the queen of YA heterosexual romance. But her covers just make me think I’m picking up the YA equivalent of harlequin romance? I don’t know how to word my feelings. I read This Lullaby and enjoyed it, so I’m not sure what’ keeping me from continuing her books. But maybe one day I’ll get past my ridiculous notion about her novels.

3. Also anything by Jodi Picoult
I feel like she is hailed also, but I just can’t get into the hype or excitement about her books.

4. Lola and the Boy Next Door
People are going to kill me for this one. I loved loved loved Anna, but when I read the preview for Lola, I hated her immediately. I don’t have to like a character to read the book, but from the sample she sounded like the kind of presumptuous uppity people with terrible taste that think they’re just misunderstood that DRIVE ME CRAZY. She sounds like she’s stuck in her 12.9 year old phase and I just couldn’t get past it. But I really want to read Isla and APPRECIATE it for all that it is, so I guess I have to get over it and read Lola. Ugh.

5. The Stephanie Plum Series
I feel like I’m already so behind and my interest level is too low to care. I hear great things about these books but I just don’t care about them.

6. The Harry Potter Series
I’ve already read this series over and over and over. It’s the only thing where I can legitimately say “I’ve forgotten more than you’ll ever know” without lying/bragging. I just really really love the world in these books. It’s so easy for me to get lost in research of the HP universe. But the second I decide to reread the books, it seems like all my TBRs are SO much more appealing than they were before I made the choice. Maybe it’s because I hate putting down and picking up a series before I finish it. It’s a big commitment to read those seven books without anything else. But I’ve put SS on my Make It Happen Monday, so hopefully I stick to it.

7. A Casual Vacancy
Same problem as with Catcher. I don’t know if I would have picked it up if not for the author/hype. I haven’t heard great things, but HP is a LOT to live up to, ya know?

8. Wonder
Honestly, I just love this cover. But I don’t know if I would actually love the plot. It’s been on my wishlist forever with no sign of getting bought soon.

9. Insurgent/Allegiant 
I started reading Insurgent months ago, but it just didn’t capture me the way Divergent did. I will finish the series at some point, but idk. I want to know what in Allegiant made everyone so upset, but that’s really my only motivation.

10. The A Song of Fire and Ice series
Another big commitment. The biggest. Like…bigger than marriage, almost. Those books are freakin huge.

 

Of which books are you unsure? Do we have any in common? Have you read any of these and want to share your thoughts (NO SPOILERS PLEASE!!)? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Don’t Know If I Want To Read

    • Yes, I have been avoiding spoilers like people avoid the factionless. But I can’t stand not finishing a series, and I have to know what happens on my own terms. I may just have to sit down and finish one weekend so I can put it all behind me.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  1. Wonder is the must read book on your list, it’s a beautiful book.

    The Catcher in Rye is a classic, but I found it hard to sympathise with the moany Holden Caulfield.

    Don’t bother with Stephanie Plum series, it’s really badly written repetitive drivel with no character growth across 21 books.

    Jodi Picoult, Sarah Dessen and JK Rowling are all good at what they do. Picoult and Dessen have a bit of a blueprint which all their books follow but they are fairly enjoyable to read.

    Allegiant is a massive disappointment. I almost wish I hadn’t read it. 🙂

    Like

    • I will definitely add Wonder into my TBR, then! Thanks!

      That’s one of the main complaints I’ve heard about CitR. Aughh, angsty teens.

      That sounds so awful. No Plum for me, then. Thanks for helping me save time and money on that!

      I started HP 1 today, and immediately got re-hooked. I’ll rent some Picoult and Dessen on my next library trip. If I love them, I have you to thank!

      Aughhh I’m so torn on Allegiant. I hate not finishing a series, but I know I’ll be angry after.

      Like

  2. I’ll be reading Cather in the rye for my book club, but I’ve already heard enough things that tell me I’m going to hate it, haha. A casual vacancy is also on my list, I really don’t know what to do with this one.. George Martin’s series is a huge commitment, but one that is worth the it if you ask me.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! My best friend has been reading A Song of Ice and Fire and has really enjoyed them. I’ve heard the show has really departed from the books, so I want to read them and see how. I’ll look into getting the first one now. Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

