What’s Up Wednesday 09.03.2014

Hey guys! I wanted to add something that would kind of be more about my life than reading habits, so this is the first What’s Up Wednesday, a weekly post that will catch you up on what I’m up to in my daily life!

As with most people, it’s back to school time. I’ve been working at my sister’s bookstore (dreams do come true!) and taking online classes so I can get some stuff done before going back to campus life with a new school and major. I was studying Education but I realized that teaching has become so much more about paperwork and politics than children, and I don’t know if I can do that for the rest of my life. Going into Education, I told myself that even if I didn’t follow it as a career, the things  learned would still help me as a parent. It still sucks to think about the fact that I won’t be a teacher, but I can still teach in daycares and montessori schools. After deciding to change paths, I sat down and thought of all the career I’ve wanted in my life: florist, baker, artist, interior designer, writer, wedding planner, etc. Then I realized I can work with flowers, food, design, and more if I become a wedding/event planner. I’m super organized, I see details and big picture, and I love picking out the tiny extras that really make something pop. Plus, I’m super good at tying tiny bows, something I found out when helping a family friend with her wedding. I’m really excited to get into the industry and see what I can do!

I’m currently trying to eat better. I know I should love my body and everything. I do! I just want to go up a flight of stairs without getting winded. I think I’ll be more confident and carefree if I stop worrying about how I look or if others are looking at me. I know if I just stopped caring, it would save me a lot of time and heartache. But I want to be healthier and feel better in my clothes, ya know?

Another thing I’m working on is adding or changing things in my room so that when I move into an apartment, I have some stuff already done. I want there to be lots of unique things that I’ve made or changed to reflect my passions. One thing I’m going to work on after my castle is a vase chandelier. Let’s hope I succeed! Haha.

That’s really all I can think of at the moment. Let me know what’s going on in your life right now. Tell me things you’ve been thinking about or wanting to do, and maybe we can work on them together!

xoxo,
Rachel

Leave a Reply

