Craft Tutorial: Striped Canvas

Hey y’all! It’s been quite a while since I posted a craft tutorial, but I’ve been documenting some for months. I’ll try and schedule them up so that they’re more regular.

This is something I worked on during my last spring semester for an art auction that was postponed. Afterwards, I made a few more for friends. Here we go!

1. Gather Materials

-canvas
-painter’s or masking tape
-paintbrushes
-a simple image outline or stencil
-scissors
-paint

Step 2: Put the tape on the canvas to make your desired stripe length. I lucked out and the tape was the perfect width, resulting in seven total stripes.

2014-02-17 21.28.47

Step 3: Paint your stripe color!

2014-02-17 21.38.12-1

Step 4: Tape down your stencil or outline and carefully paint it on. I just google searched for the shapes I wanted and cut the shape out of computer paper, leaving the scraps for the stencil.

2014-02-18 00.02.19

Step 5: Let dry before pulling off the tape, and you’re done! If you need to, make any touch ups and let dry before displaying.

2014-02-18 00.35.08

Ta da! These are the three I made. I gave away the heart and anchor, and kept the Texas for myself (after all, it is my color scheme and state!) I later added a little yellow heart where my hometown is.

2014-02-18 01.08.28

If you decide to make one of these, let me know how it came out and I would love to see pictures!!

Signature

Leave a Reply

