What’s Up Wednesday

What's Up Wednesday

Hey y’all! I hope you’ve been having a great day/week/month so far! Because I recently finished my reading challenge, I decided to take a short reading/blogging break. But now I’m back in action (blog-wise), and I’ve been crafting like crazy! So hopefully I’ll have some tutorials coming up for you.

This Saturday, I get to go to a convention I haven’t attended since I was but a wee child: The Dallas Pen Show. Dallas Pen is an office/school supply company that my other job works with pretty heavily. Every year, they have vendors come and talk about their awesome new products and give out free samples. It’s amazing!! I love it, but school often restricts my schedule so I can’t make it. Fortunately, this year I get to attend with my mom and sister (my mom is the Purchasing Manager at the office supply I work at). I can’t wait!

As I said, I’ve been crafting SO MUCH lately. It all started with the boyfriend’s idea of a house warming present: he wanted us to have a pair of really awesome chalices, and when I go to visit, we would toast his first apartment with champagne. We quickly found some fancy goblets he liked online, but nothing was my taste. I decided to try and make my own. With just a little bit of playing around, I love my prototype.

2015-03-19 22.02.51I’m going to work on making my roses bigger/less droopy, and maybe add some tint to the glass? I don’t know yet. After this, I thought I would make a wine glass for my best friend for our friendaversary. Since her two loves are wine and dragons, of course that had to inspire the design. I’m SO HAPPY with how it came out, and the only change I would make is tinting the glass black so it had a smoky look.

It’s so awesome!! I’m so so happy with it. But that’s not all the crafting I’ve been doing! I’ve also made little clay charms of all my wax seals in a variety of colors.

2015-03-22 15.12.12

And my favorite craft so far (the tutorial you’ll have on Monday) is this painted box!

2015-03-24 11.56.20

I was inspired by a post from Instagram user @ursula_uriarte, in which she said that she writes her favorite quote from books she’s read on these cute little journaling cards and keeps them in a box. How fun is that?! One of my friends asked me to make a set for her, and I used her box to make a tutorial for y’all. So stay tuned! The design of the box has also made me start doodling a lot more of mandala-like designs, and it’s been a nice break from teacups and tiaras in the margins of my paper.

As I said, I haven’t been reading much since finishing my reading challenge. While I was still fueled by the challenge victory, I finished rereading the Selection series, as well as reading The Jewel by Amy Ewing and the School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Those reviews went up this last weekend, and my last few books of the challenge will be coming up soon as well. I feel like I’ve been rushing to read lately, and as a result I haven’t enjoyed it as much. But soon I’ll get back to it and all will be well!

What I’m Making:

What I’m Watching: 

What have you been up to lately? Catch me up in the comments!

Signature

Leave a Reply

