Craft Tutorial: Hand-Painted Box

Hand-Painted Box

Hey y’all! So recently, I was totally inspired by a bookstagrammer, @ursula_uriarte. She writes her favorite quote from a book after she’s finished it on a journaling card and keeps them all in a box! How cute is that?! As a quote collector, I knew I had to do the same. So I went off to Michaels, bought a wooden box and some paint, and got busy.

A few notes before we start: the border designs were inspired/heavily based on these GORGEOUS cookies. Seriously, tell me they don’t want you to decorate everything around you just like them. The colors used were also inspired by the cookies. I found them on pinterest a few weeks ago and have been struggling to figure out a way to incorporate them into a craft. This box was the perfect opportunity.

The center design was found here, as a coloring page. I wanted to make sure it was just a design and not a significant/sacred symbol, and my research said it wasn’t. I’ve since made a similar-ish design of my own to use on any future crafts, so I don’t feel like I’m stealing/cultural appropriating any more I highly suggest you do the same.

Step One: Gather Materials

– wooden box (Michaels, $4.99, less with coupon!)
– paint (I used Folk Art Turquoise, available at Michaels and Walmart for cheap)
– brushes (I used an inch wide brush for most of the painting, and a fine point to get into corners and paint around the hardware.)
– paint pens ($2.99 at Michaels, again less with coupon)
– ruler with centimeters
– pencil
– ballpoint pen
– printed design
– towel and water for washing brushes

Step Two: Paint Box

2015-03-24 20.20.58

This is the easiest part, as you’re just slathering on paint and then working around hardware. I did 2-3 coats so the color was bright, and it took about half a tube of paint. You’ll want your paint to be very dry before you move on, so I suggest watching an episode of something on Netflix.

2015-03-24 20.36.25

Don’t forget the inside! I only did a couple of light coats in here, since it’s not the fancy part and I wanted to save paint.

Step Three: Start Marking Your Border

2015-03-24 21.30.10

You want to make two or three markings 1 centimeter apart, 0.5 centimeters from the edge. Use your ruler to make two straight lines, parallel to each other and the edge of the box. Once that’s done, make 1 cm markings down BOTH sides of the lines. This will be your guide for the design. The more exact you are, the more precise it’ll look.

Step 4: Start Drawing on the Border

2015-03-24 21.47.40

Use your paint pens or a fine point brush. I used both techniques, and I prefered the paint pens because I can go faster. However, I wasn’t as precise and it shows if you look too closely. Also, the width is kind of unpredictable and can lead to multiple tries of getting it right. You know your painting skills best, so do what you like.

Outline the two parallel lines. Connect the dots in diagonal lines going in both directions.

2015-03-24 21.48.34

Put little dots in the corners of the x’s.

Next, you’ll make your brackets. You remember those brackets you had to use in math when you did matrixes? It’s the same thing. You want them to line up with the x’s, and you might want to draw them out with the pencil first. After they’re drawn on, you can decide if you want to do the single like as shown in the picture at the top, or you can do another outline of brackets as seen here:

2015-03-24 21.57.10

It’s totally up to you. I like both designs. After this, you just add dots or lines or any extras you like.

Step 5: Trace the Main Design

For this, you just place your image on the top of the box and trace it with the ballpoint pen, as hard as you like. This will leave a small indention in the wood, and you can then trace that with your paint pen.

2015-03-24 22.05.56

Step 6: Let dry and enjoy!

2015-03-24 22.36.16

Ta da! You’re done and the proud painter of a gorgeous box! If you’ve made any mistakes or want to fix an area, just carefully use your base color to paint over the mistake, let it dry for at least an hour, and try again. You can also use the center design on the sides of the boxes, as I did on the top box. This is such a fun box to make, and it’s a great gift. If you don’t think you can do it, I’m considering selling them on etsy at some point. Just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you soon!

(All journaling cards seen were found at Michaels and Walmart.)

Thank you so much for coming to my blog and going through this tutorial with me! Let me know if there’s anything you need me to elaborate on or if there’s something else you’d like a tutorial for. Have a great day, y’all!

Signature

Leave a Reply

