Book Review: A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth A. Bunce

Curse Dark as Gold

Info: 396 pages, paperback, Middle Grade Fantasy/fairy tale retelling, published March 1, 2008

Synopsis: Charlotte Miller has always scoffed at talk of a curse on her family’s woolen mill, which holds her beloved small town together. But after her father’s death, the bad luck piles up: departing workers, impossible debts, an overbearing uncle. Then a stranger named Jack Spinner offers a tempting proposition: He can turn straw into gold thread, for the small price of her mother’s ring. As Charlotte is drawn deeper into her bargains with Spinner-and a romance with the local banker-she must unravel the truth of the curse on the mill and save the community she’s always called home.

First Impressions: Nothing amazing. Definitely matched content, though. Better than most middle grade covers.

Why I Chose This Book: For my reading challenge, I needed a book with a color in the title. Enter ‘Gold’. But it also sounded pretty good. I’m a historical fiction girl, so I had this on my TBR long before this challenge came up.

What I Liked: Very cool retelling of Rumpelstiltskin. It felt very authentic. I LOVED Charlotte as the no-nonsense manager of the mill, and her spunk was so fun to read. Also, her romance was SO CUTE and I swooned all over the place. Great example of a strong female protagonist and her supportive guy. Good book to read before Twilight. Almost every twist was unexpected. It was just good. 

What I Didn’t Like: Not enough of the romance. I wanted more! But it definitely wasn’t as important as the plot, so I guess I understand.

Rating and Recommendations: To fans of retellings, stories from a new perspective (This book was written because the author found it surprising that in a fairy tale about the importance of names, we only know Rumplestiltskin’s), historical fiction.

3. Really Enjoyed It

Final Thoughts: Good, easy read. I don’t know if it’s one I’ll reread very often, but I’m definitely keeping a copy on hand for my future kids to read.

Sound off in the comments: Have you read this book? What did you think? Are you going to see if this Rumple matches up to Mr. Gold?

Signature

Leave a Reply

